Posted in Short Stories

It’s time to say goodbye…

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed blogging over the last seven and a half years but as life brings more twists and turns, I’ve decided it’s time to move on. I appreciate all of the support I’ve gotten from book bloggers and readers everywhere. I will continue to be on goodreads.com (Dale Barthauer) and Twitter (@DBarthauer).

As one of the many things I’ve learned over the course of blogging is how great short stories are, I will close with a Top 20 list of my favorites:

20.) Yours – Joe Ashby Porter

19.) Watch With Me – Wendell Berry

18.) The Reach – Stephen King

17.) Bonus Baby – Joe Donnelly

16.) Death of a Right Fielder – Stuart Dybek

15.) In the Gloaming – Alice Elliot Dark

14.) The Virgin’s Gift – William Trevor

13.) A Father’s Story – Andre Dubus

12.) The Whore’s Child – Richard Russo

11.) “Oh, Whistle, and I’ll Come to You My Lad” – M. R. James

10.) The Turkey Season –  Alice Munro

9.) Everything That Rises Must Converge – Flannery O’Connor

8.) The Diary of Adam and Eve – Mark Twain

7.) The Balloon – Donald Barthelme

6.) The School – Donald Barthelme

5.) My Son the Murderer – Bernard Malamud

4.) A Voice in the Night – Steven Millhauser

3.) DeDaumier-Smith’s Blue Period – J. D. Salinger

2.) For Esme – With Love and Squalor – J. D. Salinger

1.) Sonny’s Blues – James Baldwin

 

10 thoughts on “It’s time to say goodbye…

  1. I’m sorry to read this, but I get it…and of course you do you. Anyway, I enjoyed comparing notes from time to time. All the best. Cheers.

    1. Thank you! I also enjoy your blog and I don’t know if I ever told you – but I love the name of your blog.! I will keep popping over there from time to time.

  2. Nooooooooo. Such a great site! Will be badly missed! You inspired so many excellent story choices for me over the years! best of luck-

    1. Thanks! I will continue following you and reading your blog – and I will continue to do Deal Me In. I’ll figure out a way to post about my short stories on twitter and goodreads. They’ll just be condensed thoughts and mini reviews!

    1. All the best to you, too! I will continue reading your blog. Yes, life takes us down different roads – not necessarily bad roads, sometimes just unexpected.

  3. Hi Dale,
    Very sorry to read this, but I understand. It’s no secret I too have been largely absent from blogging in 2019, but I am planning a “triumphant return” once I get totally settled in my new place in downtown Indy. I’m glad to see above that you’ll keep doing Deal Me In. I’ve been keeping up with it this year in spite of a general lack of posts about it. Keep in touch and let me know if you’re gonna be Indy in the future. We’ll catch up.
    -Jay

    1. I look forward to your “triumphant return”! Never say never, I could be back sometime but I definitely need a sabbatical of some sort. A place in downtown Indy sounds awesome! I will still be on goodreads and twitter. Figuring out how to do short stories on goodreads. Maybe choose an anthology and then post and “update” after every story. Then I could post the updates on twitter. We’ll see!

Leave a comment