2017 is almost here…

And so its time to post my short story list for next year’s Deal Me In project!

For anyone who is not familiar with Deal Me In, it is a short story challenge hosted each year by Jay at Bibliophilopolis. Since there are 52 weeks in the year and 52 cards in a regular deck of playing cards, Deal Me In participants come up with a list of 52 short stories of their choosing assigning each to a specific card, and then each week, draw a card to determine which story they will read and potentially post about for that week. 2017 will be the fifth year in which I’ve participated and it’s been one of the most enriching blogging and learning experiences in which I’ve been involved.

So here is my list!

I’ve chosen a geographical theme for this upcoming Deal Me In project. My red suits are almost all from an anthology I bought this year Wonderful Town: New York Stories from the New Yorker edited by David Remnick. As I’ve stated on this blog at least a few times, I’ve long been fascinated with New York City, a place I’ve only managed to visit once. If I can’t go there as often as I would like, I figure I can at least read stories that are set there. The only exception in the red suits is Nathaniel Hawthorne’s “The Snow Image”. I included it as the Christmas sounding title that I throw into my list each year just to see when it pops up. I’ve yet to have a Christmas story actually show up in December. And also, Hawthorne tended to write about New England which I thought kind of includes New York City so it fits in even if it might be a little bit of a stretch.

116829

My black suits are stories about Appalachia which, in the grand scheme of things, is not that far from New York City geographically but seems worlds apart. Seventeen stories are from a collection called Degrees of Elevation: Short Stories of Contemporary Appalachia edited by Charles Dodd White and Page Seay. I randomly chose the remaining stories that are by authors that have some connection to Appalachia. Since I enjoyed reading the Kentucky stories on my 2016 Deal Me In list, I thought I would expand that a little in 2017. Kentucky is my adpoted home state even if I only live just on the other side of the Ohio River from Cincinnati. Appalachia has a rich story-telling tradition that I’m looking forward to exploring.

9408304

As in previous years, my Twos will be wild where I will choose a story I’ve heard of from someone else. They won’t necessarily be related to the topics of the othe stories on my list.

What about you? Do you feel like jumping in with the DMI’ers in 2017? I don’t think you will regret it if you do!

 

 

 

 

8 responses to “2017 is almost here…

    • Yeah, the one contrast I’ve already noticed is that the titles of the Appalachian stories seem mostly to be one or two word titles. Whereas the NYC titles tend to be wordier.

      • I just started reading a collection of Appalachian stories by Ron Rash for a book club meeting in January. It’s been pretty good so far. I have something of an appalachia connection too, as my Mom is from the mountains of West Virginia. 🙂

      • I’ve got Pinckney Benedict on my list for 2017, a West Virginia author. I enjoyed his short story “Mercy” in 2015. I’m looking forward to Ron Rash’s story “Into the Gorge” in 2017, too.

  1. I’m working on my list and plans still, but I will be doing DMI for the seventh time next year. I have a couple Pushcart Prize winners/nominees collections that I may plunder for titles. I also just bought an O’Henry winners collection that I think will make up one suit. I’d like to have another “home run” suit like I did with Russian Authors a couple years back, but I haven’t come up with one yet. 🙂

    I’ll be officially announcing DMI2.017k in a couple weeks.

  2. I forgot I also have a book of “Best American Essays” (or something like that) edited by Joyce Carol Oates that I may make a suit of. I’ve been thinking that I need to read more essays so that would help motivate me perhaps.

    • I’ve been thinking about reading essays more frequently for a long time, now. I’ll see if I can figure out a way of working them in. Including them in DMI would definitely be a way.

Leave a Reply

