Fall Reading

As we head into September, I know that technically we still have a little bit of summer left but I thought I would post about some of my reading plans for the next few months. As always, they are subject to change.

337113

I’m finishing – or rather ‘still reading’ since I have more than half way to go – Anne Bronte’s The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. This will round out my Bronte sisters reading at least for a while. I will have read one novel each from Emily, Charlotte and Anne. Since Emily only has one, I won’t be reading any more of hers but there are a few more novels from the other two that I might read sometime. But not now.

820666

37415

After that, I’m looking forward to Banned Book Week heading into the end of September. I’ve reviewed a few Banned Book Lists and usually find Toni Morrison’s novel Song of Solomon and Zora Neale Hurston’s Their Eyes Were Watching God.  I think I’ll celebrate my freedom to read by reading them.

29072594

Then I just found out today that Bruce Springsteen has an autobiography coming out the end of September called – no surprise – Born to Run. Plan on seeing a post about it sometime in October.

How about you? What do you plan on reading during the autumn months?

 

4 responses to “Fall Reading

  1. I’ve never read Song of Solomon, but have read The Bluest Eye and Beloved. Neither were real favorites for me. Their Eyes Were Watching God was the selection of the only meeting of my Rathskeller book club that I’ve missed recently. Don’t know when I’ll get to that. 🙂 I’ll be interested to hear about the Soringsteen autobio.

    I have a bio of Tom Petty on my fall reading list. I’ve got that Ernie Pyle bio I’d like to read, and also Ben Winters’ new novel “Underground Airlines”. That, and short stories will keep me busy. 🙂 Rereading The handmaid’s tale right now for book club.

Leave a Reply

