Summer Reading!

With yesterday being the unofficial beginning of summer, I thought I would post a little about my reading plans for the next couple of months. As with any of my reading plans, they are subject to change without notice!

25111109

Right now, I have begun John Irving’s latest novel Avenue of Mysteries. Irving’s novel  A Prayer for Owen Meany is on my list of favorites; however, I have not been able to get into his other novels. This one looks like it might be breaking that pattern.

25489094

Next is Yann Martel’s latest The High Mountains of Portugal. I’ve been a fan of Martel’s ever since Life of Pi. I’m looking forward to more of his work.

297673

After that, I’m thinking about Junot Diaz’ Pulitzer Prize winner The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. Diaz has long been on my radar but so far I’ve only read his great short story “Edison, New Jersey”.

9859899

I would also like to read Alan Jacob’s The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction. A great title that I’ve heard some interesting things about.

20564

337113

After that, I plan to resume my adventures with Nineteenth Century Female British authors. George Eliot’s The Mill on the Floss has been on my shelf for a few years, now. This is going to be the year I read it. In addition, I would like to round out my Bronte sisters expedition with Anne Bronte’s The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. I don’t own this one as of now so I’ll have to get a copy somewhere.

So there you have it! My reading plans for the Summer of 2016 – we’ll see how everything plays out. What books are you planning on reading over the next few months? I’d love to know!

 

 

10 responses to “Summer Reading!

  1. Great selections, Dale! I’m anxious to hear more about the new Iriving book. I’ve also had “The Brief and wondrous Life” recommended me a few times by others. I don’t remember a lot about The Tenant of Wildfell Hall from reading it >20 years other than that I really enjoyed it at the time.

    Enjoy your summer of reading!

  2. Well, obviously, I’m reading Jane Eyre this summer. I also plan to re-read Anne of Ingleside and Rainbow Valley and Rilla of Ingleside before September. And I need to re-read Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell, A Light in the Forest by Conrad Richter, The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton, and True Grit by Charles Portis because I’ll be using them in a lit class I’ll be teaching my high school-age niece this fall. I picked up The Flaw in the Blood by Stephanie Barron on a whim at the library the other day, and beyond all of that, who knows???

    • Wow, that’s a lot! Your lit class for your niece sounds exciting! I don’t think I’ve ever read Island of the Blue Dolphins although it was pretty much a staple at my library growing up. I think it might even be on my shelf. That’s one I might need to fit in this summer. I loved The Outsiders as a kid and I’m would still like it as an adult.

      • Yeah, I’m trying to catch up a bit on my reading list while I’m not teaching 🙂

        I really liked Island of the Blue Dolphins as a kid. Anything where people had to be self-sufficient and survive using only what was around them always has fascinated me.

        The Outsiders is still in my top 20 favorite books. It’s just wonderful. I can’t believe Hinton wrote it when she was sixteen!

      • I checked our shelves and we don’t have Island of the Blue Dolphin. It was Julie of the Wolves that I was thinking of by Jean Craighead George. Maybe I will have to read both of them. Jean Craighead George also wrote My Side of the Mountain which I’ve always liked. I did not realize S. E. Hinton was 16 when she wrote The Outsiders. That deserves a reread I think.

      • Something about Julie of the Wolves left a bad taste in my mouth, but I don’t remember what anymore. However, I ADORE My Side of the Mountain and read it like ten times as a kid. The sequels I liked pretty well too, some more than others.

        Yeah, she was 16 when she wrote The Outsiders, though may have been older when it was published. I guess there was a gang-related incident in Tulsa that prompted her to write it, or something like that — I’m going to have to research it a bit before I teach it!

    • I know I read at least one of the “Mountain” sequels and liked it. S. E. Hinton wrote some other novels, too, didn’t she? Rumble Fish? Or maybe I’m thinking of something else.

      • Yup, she wrote Rumble Fish. And That was Then, This is Now, which is a sequel to The Outsiders told by Two-Bit (and I never liked it). I did really like her Taming the Star Runner a lot, and Tex I think.

Leave a Reply

