Another TBR Triple Dog Dare Update

TBR Final Dare

The final TBR Triple Dog Dare is sponsored by James at James Reads Books and here’s another update. The Dare requires participants to read only books that they already have during January, February and March. Only a few more weeks to go and while I can’t get too excited about how many books I’ve read during these months, the books I have read have been worth reading. In February, I completed Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights, a classic that has been on my shelf for a long time. I’m glad to have added this to my “Books Read” list.

Currently, I’m in the middle of Emily’s sister Charlotte’s novel Jane Eyre.  So far, I’m liking this one better but it’s taking even longer to get through it. Look for a post about “Volume The First” sometime soon. Reading the forewords and afterwords in these novels, has sparked an interest in the Bronte sisters. At some point this year, I might have to read a biography or two about this family of authors.

I received Andy Weir’s novel The Martian for my birthday last month so it will probably be the first book I read in April which at the rate I’m going will also be the book I read after Jane Eyre.  If I, by chance, finish it before the end of March, my plan is to read some more Ray Bradbury short stories that are already on my shelf.

Are you currently taking the dare? If so, how is it going?

6 responses to “Another TBR Triple Dog Dare Update

    • I’m very much enjoying Jane Eyre even if it’s taking me a long time to read it. I think I will like The Martian, too. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. I loved The Martian too, it was one of the best meetings we’ve had at our Rathskeller book club too. Thought the movie was well done also. Glad you are finally getting around to Jane Eyre. I have a good friend who’s so devoted to it she reads it once a year. This has been going on for decades. 🙂

    Sadly, I haven’t done as well on the Triple Dog Dare as I seem to have so many ‘required’ reads, but I did finally read The Wright Brothers and The Chrissie Hynde bio. The One-Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared” had been on my list a while too. So I guess I’ve only knocked off three from my TBR. Don’t tell James… 🙂

    • Even though I haven’t read a lot of books during the Triple Dog Dare, I like it because it’s a challenge that I can actually accomplish – just like Deal Me In. I’m looking forward to The Martian – I’ve already seen the movie so I’m hoping the novel will still be a good experience. Jane Eyre is definitely keeping my attention. I’m not sure I’m going to be reading it once a year but I can appreciate someone who wants to do that.

  2. I’ve encountered two mentions of Wuthering Heights today. I’m starting to feel like Emily knows I haven’t read it and is getting impatient…

    I’m doing pretty well with the Dare this month. It’s kind of satisfying reading from my shelves. That said, come April 1st, the first thing I’m reading is volume 2 of The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, which I bought for myself as a late Christmas present in January. April Fool’s Day is going to be like Christmas morning.

    • Just going by Wuthering Heights and what I’ve read of Jane Eyre so far, I would say that Emily and Charlotte had drastically different personalities (as siblings tend to have). I’ve always lumped the two novels together, but they are very different. WH is much darker.

Leave a Reply

