James Thurber: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

Deal Me In – Week 33

4♣  4♣  4♣  4♣  4♣  4♣  4♣  4♣

pocketa-pocketa-queep-pocketa-queep

So goes one of the machines in Walter Mitty’s daydreams from James Thurber’s “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”, a story that I feel as though I’m the last person in the world to read.  I selected it for Week 33 of my Deal Me In Short Story project when I drew the Four of Clubs. My Deal Me In 2015 list can be seen here. Deal Me In 2015 is sponsored by Jay at Bibliophilopolis.

18992152

Poor Mrs. Mitty – she is cursed with a husband who has an imagination. Walter’s mind wanders all over the place while he is running errands or doing other mundane but necessary daily tasks. I’m not sure of Walter Mitty’s age; however, he has to be too old to be pretending in the manner that he does.

I feel a strong sense of sympathy and respect for Walter Mitty.

I’ve read more of Kurt Vonnegut’s work than I have of James Thurber’s (as of right now anyway) but I can’t help but compare the two authors.  They both tend to look at and make sense of the world with eyes that are different than most people and at the same time make most people think “He’s got a point”.

And, of course, in a classic and timeless manner, both authors are very funny.

5 responses to “James Thurber: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

  1. Pingback: Deal Me In 2015 – Week 32 & 33 Wrap Up | Bibliophilopolis

  2. I love James Thurber, but I haven’t read anything of his in ages, even though I own 3 collections of his stuff. I can never decide if “The Night the Bed Fell” or “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” is my favorite. He makes me laugh and laugh and laugh!

Leave a Reply

