Martha Gellhorn: Miami-New York

DEAL ME IN  WEEK 2 – QUEEN OF HEARTS

It’s only because I’ve been sitting up all night in a plane.

With this final line of Martha Gellhorn’s short story “Miami-New York”, she proves she can be as much a master of understatement as her second husband, Ernest Hemingway.  If I did the calculations correctly, Gellhorn was Hemingway’s third wife.

In the story, Kate Merlin does a little more than sit up all night in a plane. She sleeps some. And she spends a significant part of the night making out with the stranger sitting next to her.

Martha Gellhorn

In fact, the bulk of the story is Kate and John’s makeout session.  Gellhorn wonderfully weaves back and forth between Kate and John Hanley’s thoughts while their lips are locked. This dialogue of the minds goes something like this:

She thought:

He took everything so calmly; did he imagine that she always kissed the man sitting next to her on the night plane from Miami?

He thought:

There was nothing else they could do on a plane, which was a pity, but it was foolish to worry about something you couldn’t have. Just be very damn grateful, he thought, that it’s as fine as it is.

The story’s point of view reminds me of Virginia Woolf’s To The Lighthouse where it seems to switch mid-sentence.  One minute the reader gets the disappointment Kate feels with her marriage (hence the kissing a stranger all night) and the next, John’s mind wanders back to the war from which he is returning.

In addition to their individual lives, they both have thoughts about the two of them together.  She begins thinking of what things might be like after they land in New York.  Laughing, talking, museums, pleasant little walks are included in Kate’s thoughts.  John has thoughts of – well – a hotel.

This story is included in my Best American Short Stories of the Century anthology and prior to that was included in the Best American Short Stories from 1948.  I have a feeling it may have been considered “racy” back in the late 1940’s and admit that I got a little nervous when Kate and John realize they could move the armrest that was between them.  Even though it’s at night and Gellhorn makes the point that the stewardess turns off the lights, other people are in the vicinity of their seats. I couldn’t help but wonder what others might have thought.  Maybe they were all asleep.

They do eventually land and some resolution to their “relationship” is reached, but go and find out for yourself how things end.  In a word, this story is a gem!

131146

My Deal Me In 2015 list can be seen here.  Deal Me In 2015 is sponsored by Jay at Bibliophilopolis.

7 responses to “Martha Gellhorn: Miami-New York

    • Quite a few of the stories I have on my DMI list are from this anthology. So far, I haven’t been disappointed!

      I also had never heard of Martha Gellhorn until I picked this story. In addition to being married to Hemingway (briefly), she was a war correspondent for a large part of the twentieth century.

    • It really is a little more innocent than it sounds, but it was just rather unusual and while not slapstick funny, I couldn’t help but chuckle – pretty much through the whole story.

  1. Pingback: Deal Me In 2015 – Week 2 Wrap Up | Bibliophilopolis

  2. Nice review, Dale. This is one of the stories in that anthology that I have yet to read. I’m a little disappointed in myself for not including any from it in my Deal Me In roster this year, but at least it was well represented last year.

    • A significant number of my stories this year are from this anthology. I remember this story as being one of the last I put on the list. I needed another female author. I had never heard of Gellhorn. I knew Hemingway had a bunch of wives but I had never bothered to find out their names. I’m really glad I picked this story. If it’s the best of the century, I have a feeling most of them are going to be of a higher caliber.

Leave a Reply

