It’s that time of year again..

It’s that time of year again when the number of short stories in my Deal Me In project begins to dwindle.  I’ve read the one for this week and will post about it soon.  After that, only three are left.  So it’s time to start thinking about the stories I’ll select for 2015.  Actually, I’ve been thinking about them for a while and have now come up with a final list.

For those who may not be familiar with this project, it was started by Jay at Bibliophilopolis and its participants assign 52 short stories of their choosing to each card in a standard deck of cards.  Each week of the year, a card is randomly drawn and the story that corresponds to that card is read (posting about every story is optional).

2015 will be my third year for participating in this project and I have to say it’s been a very enjoyable activity.  I’ve grown to love the short story format.

A few things about my list this year:

  • I have no multiple-story authors this year
  • I have an even number of male and female authors
  • My stories are listed in order of year written and/or published (Kate Chopin’s “The Storm” was written around 1900, but not published until 1969 – I used 1900).
  • Two of my stories are re-reads:  Washington Irving’s “Rip Van Winkle” and Kurt Vonnegut’s “Harrison Bergeron”
  • I have included one story each connected to the three states in which I’ve spent the majority of my life: Ohio, Indiana, and Kentucky.  Feel free to guess which ones they are.  I’ll give you a hint: the Kentucky story is pretty easy to figure out.
  • I’ve again included a story with a Christmas sounding title just for the fun of seeing when it will “pop up” in the deck.
  • And as in prior years, two’s are wild.  I do reserve the right to pick a story from an author already included on my list even if that goes against the one-story author format.

I’m looking forward to starting this new list in just a few weeks and I’m looking forward to seeing the lists of other participants.  And if you haven’t participated before, there’s no better year to start than 2015!

 

5 responses to “It’s that time of year again..

  1. Your list looks great and your challenge tempting. Not for this coming year but I may consider something like this for the next. I really want to read some of Wendell Berry’s essays/stories …. I’ve heard that he’s excellent!

    Happy short story reading for 2015!

    • Thanks, Cleo! Before I started blogging, I read quite a few of Wendell Berry’s novels and stories. And they were excellent! His novel Jayber Crow was probably my favorite.

Leave a Reply

