Banned Book Awareness Week 2014

This week is Banned Book Awareness Week and typically during this week each year, I read a banned book in celebration of my freedom to discern for myself what I will read or not read.  I actually have two books that I plan to read; however, due to an extra busy work schedule, I’m fairly certain that neither will get read completely this week.  So look for future posts about these books that have been found on banned book lists during the last few decades:

Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man

11787

Evelyn Waugh’s Brideshead Revisited

30933

I also have two more wild cards in my Deal Me In 2014 Short Story Project and whenever one of those pops up, I plan to read a short story by Salman Rushdie, one of the more extreme victims of book banning that I can think of in my lifetime.  I would also recommend Rushdie’s literary thriller of a memoir Joseph Anton,  an entertaining thriller if it wasn’t for the fact that it was true.  I posted about it here.

So maybe October will be Banned Book Month for me.  In the meantime, celebrate your freedom to read!

2 responses to “Banned Book Awareness Week 2014

    • My schedule has been busier than normal, but my goal is to post about Brideshead this month. I’m also reading a new novel by Marilynne Robinson. She is the one Protestant author that I can think of who writes great stories (although I guess C. S. Lewis would be considered Protestant?). Anyway, I think it will be interesting to read Robinson’s novel and “Brideshead” back to back.

Leave a Reply

