Some ‘Game of Thrones’ thoughts

Here are some random thoughts as I finished  George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones and here is my previous post about this novel:

Tyrion Lannister steals the show, or at least the novel. I haven’t seen any of the HBO series, but I’ve heard Peter Dinklage is great.  I am curious about Tyrion in the subsequent books.  At the beginning of this one, he might have had a little sympathy for some of the Starks but that seems to fizzle out.

I liked the direction Jon was headed at the end – until his friends came along and ruined it.

I don’t understand the situation with Lady.  Will there be more significance to this in subsequent books?

I wanted more wrap-up in this book – especially with Sansa and Arya.  I know, there are more books.

Daenerys still creeped me out and her storyline about her “Atilla the Hun” husband interested me the least, until the final page.

One of the more memorable moments came surprisingly from Catelyn as she played both warrior guide and mother to her son, Robb.  The conflicting emotions were well done.  I would be curious about her portrayal in the series.

Martin is a good story-teller.

The descriptions of battle remind me of the Iliad and the Odyssey:  the arrow entered here and came out here; the sword pierced here; the head rolled here; blood splattered all over here.

If one is a little queasy about violence, one might not want to read this book.

I will probably read the next book in the series sometime – maybe Christmas vacation.

13496

 

 

Leave a Reply

