Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

375802

“All is not always as it seems.”

When I began reading Orson Scott Card’s novel Ender’s Game, something made me a little skeptical about whether I would like it.  I think it was the idea of a six year-old boy pegged as a military genius.  I decided; however, that I would just go with it and see what happens, after all, it’s considered science fiction.  I stuck with it and enjoyed a great story from a great story teller.

The first third of the novel takes Andrew “Ender” Wiggins from his home to a space school where he is trained in military strategy and impresses his commanders with his intelligence and mettle, in spite of his tendency toward compassion and emotion.  I started getting pulled into the story more when Ender’s older siblings, Peter and Valentine, make their own secret plans that intertwine with Ender’s education.

As with much good science fiction, Card, while writing in the early 1980’s, has a grasp on technology and enough foresight to make some amazing predictions about internet use and its influence on world politics.

As I was making my way to the end of the novel, I knew a specific plot line would have to somehow be resolved.  As the end got closer, I realized there were not many possibilities left (at least not ones that would work) and took an educated guess as to how the novel would end.  I have to hand it to Card for his storytelling techniques that managed to keep me on the edge of my seat reading even when I knew I had figured out what would happen.

I have not seen the recent movie version of this novel and while most science fiction novels make for easy film adaptation, Ender’s Game seems like it would have some difficult sections to take to the big screen.

4 responses to “Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

  1. I’ve got this on my to-read list — have to admit I hadn’t heard of it before the movie brought it to my attention. My son is 6 right now, so that could make reading it very interesting, to say the least.

    • I watched the movie after I posted this yesterday. In the film, Ender was a little older than 6. The special effects were great and it ended the same way as the book. The one big disappointment was that Ender’s siblings only made an appearance. Their “secret plans” were not included.

  2. Hi Dale,
    I haven’t seen the film yet. Somehow I had talked my brilliant nephew into reading the book last year and HE went to see it. His report was generally favorable but didn’t include the factor that Ender’s siblings’ activities were not included. That’s a shame.

    For my part, the book was much better than I dared hope. My main complaint was “a little too much detail on the simulated battles.” I felt Card sometimes got carried away with that.

    Do you think you’ll proceed to his subsequent books in the “series?” I’m torn. I did find the dream narrative with the fallen giant (? – see, I already am forgetting details) compelling and would like to know more about it.

    -Jay

    • Hi Jay,
      The film only included Ender’s interaction with Peter and Valentine. There was nothing about Peter and Valentine’s activities with each other. I thought it was those activities that made the novel more interesting – more than just hi tech video games.

      I think I would like to continue reading the series – or at least take it a book at a time. I’m curious as to what happens next. I just don’t have any set time frame for reading them at the moment.

      -Dale

Leave a Reply

