Boo Boo Tannenbaum: An Admiral and a Lady

10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥ 

J. D. Salinger’s short story, “Down at the Dinghy”, centers on Boo Boo Tannenbaum, the oldest daughter of the seven Glass children that frequently populate Salinger’s stories and novels.  I found this to be a pleasant surprise, as up until now, the stories about the Glass children that I’ve read have only mentioned her in passing.

Boo Boo is now an adult with a summer cottage on the lake and a four year-old son, Lionel. The story begins with the cottage hired-help (two older ladies) talking about the issue of Lionel frequently running away.  As Boo Boo enters the scene, she indicates that Lionel is now hiding out in the dinghy on the lake.

Nine Stories

The scene switches to Boo Boo and her son having a conversation at the dinghy.  The grace, poise and strength Boo Boo possesses as she figures out why her son has run away this time adds to the depth with which Salinger paints his Glass family portrait.  He throws in just enough motherly frustration to keep it real.  During this conversation, Boo Boo alludes to her time in the Navy and Lionel seems fascinated with the fact that she was an Admiral and a lady.  I recall from Raise High The Roofbeam, Carpenters that Boo Boo missed her brother Seymour’s wedding because of World War II.  Lionel’s Uncle Seymour is mentioned briefly by his mother.

As the conversation , and the story, finishes, Salinger reveals to the reader why Lionel was hiding in the dinghy.  I really would not consider it a spoiler if I mentioned the reason here; however, I don’t think I’ll do that and encourage anyone reading this to read the story themselves.  It’s not very long; and while it may not be my favorite Salinger story, there is something hidden in Boo Boo’s character that keeps me thinking about her and the Glass clan.

10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥  10♥ 

5 responses to “Boo Boo Tannenbaum: An Admiral and a Lady

  1. Hi Dale,
    Nice summary. I’m down to only three of Salinger’s “Nine Stories” that I still haven’t read. This is one of them. I did just read The Laughing Man, however, and really liked it. Oh, and I finally got to The Catcher in the Rye, starting it on Sunday, and am about. 2/3 of the way through. Finally, that gap in my literary literacy will be mended! 🙂
    -Jay

    • I’ve really enjoyed Salinger’s stories. I’ve been on vacation and need to catch up on your posts. I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on The Laughing Man. I think I’m planning on re-reading The Catcher In The Rye during Banned Book week.

  2. Hi Dale,
    I’m reading Catcher in the Rye RIGHT NOW. This is my first time. I read half of it last weekend after reading The Laughing Man, and am back to finish it off today.
    -Jay

    • I just read your post on The Laughing Man. Great post! I am outside Gettysburg, PA. Did the battlefield tour yesterday. Headed home today. Philadelphia was great. As was New York City. I’m in the middle of Ben Franklin’s autobiography. I loved seeing Independence Hall and Betsy Ross’s house. And Franklin’s grave.

  3. Pingback: Teddy | Mirror w/ Clouds

Leave a Reply

