“The Last Dream of the Old Oak” by Hans Christian Andersen

I read Hans Christian Andersen’s short story “The Last Dream of the Old Oak” and I’m seeing a theme running through his stories – or at least the ones I’ve read recently.  The theme that nothing lasts forever seems strange for fairy tales, but somehow it works.

hans

(photo obtained from goodreads.com)

The oak tree in this story is 365 years old.  One year is like a human day to the tree.  It is awake for three seasons and sleeps during the winter.  During the course of the story, a fly enjoys buzzing around the oak’s branches.  The fly’s life is only a human day.  The oak has difficulty understanding how the fly could be so happy when his life is so short.  The fly’s answer, while in fairy tale language, is essentially: it’s all relative.  The fly is perfectly happy with it’s lifespan so why should the oak be sad for it.  Personally, the idea of time being relative is a pleasant idea, especially within a fairy tale of this sort.  It’s not something I would have any problem sitting around pondering for a long time – even if I wouldn’t come up with any type of concrete conclusion.  Unfortunately, there are pesky things like “a job” that keep me from pondering these things as much as I would like.  Maybe that’s a good thing?

Eventually the oak goes to sleep for the winter and has a dream that it’s summer.  In the dream, it grows taller and taller and brings the rest of the forest along with it, growing up and up into something that might be called heaven.  In the real world, the tree has been uprooted by a storm on Christmas Day and sailors, who had used the tree as a guide when they came to shore, sing a carol over the dead tree.  So the dream isn’t real – it’s just a dream.  Or is it?  Something else to ponder.

6 responses to ““The Last Dream of the Old Oak” by Hans Christian Andersen

  1. Have you read, “The Steadfast Tin Soldier” my favorite of all his stories? It illustrates that there is nothing more noble in life than to be steadfast; to do the right thing. It may cost you your life, but to be devoted to and unwavering in your beliefs is more important. It’s a heartbreakingly beautiful tale. It’s too bad Disney messed with the ending in “Fantasia 2000.”

      • Oh! I’m new to your blog(?), so I hadn’t read your post about The Steadfast Tin Soldier. I never understood at all why so many editions say “Brave” instead of “Steadfast.” The are Not synonyms. The story takes on a whole new meaning when “steadfast” is used, don’t you think? I taught elementary school for years – all grades – and it is this story on which I based my classroom management. All my students understood what it meant to be steadfast and how I expected that behavior from them throughout the year. They knew it meant to do what they were SUPPOSED to do, no matter what.
        I wonder if you know this quote by Albert Einstein: “If you want your children to be brilliant, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be very brilliant, read them lots of fairy tales.” I love this and read fairy tales to all my students, as well as my own children.

      • What a wonderful way to teach children! And a great quote, too! I have also read “The Little Mermaid”. Again, much different than the Disney version. Thanks for stopping by, Wendy!

Leave a Reply

