Looking ahead to 2013

With the end of the year fast approaching, I thought I would post about my reading plans for 2013.

At the beginning of 2012, I started reading a short story each week.  I didn’t know whether I would keep it up for the entire year, so I didn’t make a formal commitment.  I enjoyed it so much that I plan to keep it up during 2013, with a twist.  For the last few years, Jay, over at Bibliophilopolis, has participated in a short story project called “Deal Me In”.  He chooses 52 stories, one for each week of the year, and assigns them each to a card in a regular deck of playing cards.  Each week he draws a card to see which story he reads.  I’m going to join him in doing this for 2013.  You can see the stories I chose on my Deal Me In: Short Story Project-2013 page.

I’m continuing with my Classics Club reading and have picked out several books from my list that I want to read in 2013.  I’m not limiting myself to these; however, most of them are what I’ve seen several bloggers refer to as “chunksters”.  So we’ll see how many others I get finished.

Have you thought about 2013, yet?

2 responses to “Looking ahead to 2013

  1. Hi Dale,
    I’ve been thinking a lot about 2013 this weekend too, and may do a formal post of my plans soon. One thing I want to do is read more “unknown” or “lesser known” authors (especially local) and help spread the word about them (if they’re good of course). I also hope to read a little more non-fiction next year. I haven’t settled on an overall theme or “project” yet, though. My “author biographies” project for 2012 sort of ran out of steam I’m afraid. I don’t know why…
    -Jay

    • I didn’t put this on my Reading Project – 2013 page, but there are a few biographies I really want to read. A new one about Vincent Van Gogh came out this fall that I’d like to read. I like the lesser known, local authors idea.

      I enjoyed reading London and Kipling during the first half of 2012 but then Asimov and Dickens ran out of steam. If I do that again, I’d probably just pick two authors for the entire year.

      I may post an update about 2012 sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

