Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Make Me Think

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.  This week’s topic is books that make me think.  In some cases, it’s easier to come up with an author that makes me think as opposed to one book, but here goes in no particular order other than when they popped into my head:

1.  The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky

2.  Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis

3.  Fear and Trembling by Soren Kierkegaard

4.  The Stranger by Albert Camus

5.  Armageddon in Retrospect by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

6.  Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

7.  The Chosen by Chaim Potok

8.  We Make A Life By What We Give by Richard B. Gunderman

9.  When I Was A Child I Read Books by Marilynne Robinson

10.  The Sea Wolf by Jack London

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Make Me Think

  1. I’ve read six of yours, and they made me think too (at least I think they did), but am familiar with the others except The Chosen. Title sounds familiar but I can’t place it…

    • The Chosen is one of my favorites. It tends to be on most of my positive attribute book lists. It used to be on a lot of high school reading lists – I don’t know if it still is. I think it won the National Book Award sometime in the 60’s when it came out. For decades, it had the same cover (a kid with big glasses carrying books). I think some new editions have come out in recent years.

  2. I absolutely love The Chosen. Potok became one of my favorite authors after I read it. I do think The Promise isn’t quite as good, though–hazard of sequels. I believe The Chosen was a finalist for the National Book Award, but didn’t win.

    I started reading The Brothers Karamazov, loved it, and had to stop for some reason. Someone is currently borrowing my copy, and now all I’m hearing about is how great it is and how much I’m missing. 😉

    • Briana, The Chosen has been a favorite of mine for a long time. I agree that The Promise didn’t quite measure up, but it still made me think. The various characters that represented different attitudes toward faith and knowledge seemed a little forced. The Brothers Karamazov was great. It’s been a while since I’ve read it. I may need to re-read it soon. Thanks for commenting!
      -Dale

Leave a Reply

