Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Summer Reading List

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  It’s a fun an interesting way to get to know other book bloggers and what they are reading.

This week the topic is “books on my summer reading list”.  Here it is and its subject to change without notice.

1.  Calico Joe by John Grisham: I’m not a huge Grisham fan and I think I’ve only read one of his books, The Innocent Man.  As this one is about baseball and it seems baseball stories are difficult to come by, I thought I’d give it a try.  Besides, it’s short.

2.  The Long Recessional: The Imperial Life of Rudyard Kipling by David Gilmour:  As I’ve been reading Kipling as a part of my 2012 reading project, I wanted to read a biography.  I’m in the middle of this one right now and so far he strikes me as a complicated person.

3.  City of Bones by Cassandra Clare:  Not my usual genre but Daughter, The Eldest highly recommends it so I thought I would see what its all about.

4.  Hard Times by Charles Dickens:  The second part of the year will include works by Charles Dickens.  I’m starting with this one.

5.  Bleak House by Charles Dickens:  This one has been on my shelf for a while.  I’ve read the more “popular” works by Dickens so I’ll read some of his lesser known works this year.

6.  Stranger In A Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein:  Last year I read The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress  and enjoyed it.  I’ve gotten several high recommendations for this novel.

7.  I, Robot by Isaac Asimov:  Isaac Asimov is another one of my reading project authors for 2012.  I’ve read absolutely nothing by him, so this will be the first unless I read one of his short stories before this one.

8.  For Whom The Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway:  This will be a re-read, but it’s been a long time.  I re-read The Sun Also Rises last year and it was as great as it was when I was in high school – which was a little while ago.  Looking forward to this one.

9. Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks: This will round out Brooks’ novels for me.

10.  Sign Talker by James Alexander Thom:  As I’ve come to appreciate the effort that goes into good historical fiction with the works of Geraldine Brooks, I thought I’d give Thom a try as he comes highly recommended.

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Summer Reading List

  1. Thanks for stopping by , April! I’ve thoroughly enjoyed Geraldine Brooks’ other three novels so I’m looking forward to Year of Wonders. Hemingway always amazes me!

  2. I cut my teenage teeth on Asimov. My dad had all of those books by the Golden Age writers around the house. I have several Dickens on my list, too. Great list of books.

    • Thanks for the comment! This will be a first for me with Asimov, I’m looking forward to it. It’s been a while since I’ve read any Dickens. I have Our Mutual Friend on my shelf, but I probably won’t get to it during the summer, maybe in the fall.

  3. Hard Times is on my TBR list, too, although it will be farther in the future than this summer, I think. I recently finished Great Expectations, though, which rekindled my love of Dickens. Hard Times is one of the few of his that I haven’t read yet. While I love a good chunkster, I’m not ready to attack Bleak House, as I’ve heard it described as monotonous. Perhaps it isn;t, but I’ll need some convincing!

    • Yeah, I’m always hesitant to read books by classic authors that are not as widely read. I keep thinking that they are not read for a reason. I haven’t really read a bad Dickens, yet, so I’ll give Bleak House a go and see what it’s like. I had a hard time getting into A Tale of Two Cities, but then thought it was great! David Copperfield is still my favorite, though. Thanks for stopping by, Amy!

  4. Hi Dale,
    The Kipling biography sounds interesting. I look forward to reading your thoughts on that one when you’re through. I’ve heard of the Cassandra Clare book, but since I don’t have daughters I won’t likely be reading it. 🙂 The Sign Talker was excellent, as was I, Robot (the latter is actually several interlinked shorter stories – something I wasn’t aware of until I actually read it.)
    This might be the summer I read For Whom the Bell Tolls. Picked it up last year after we read The Sun Aso Rises but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

    -Jay

    • Jay, According to my daughter, there is a Paradise Lost connection to the Cassandra Clare books. That’s interesting about I, Robot. I didn’t know that. I just picked up a paperback version of volume 2 of Asimov’s early stories from Half Price Books. I think it was $.69. I’ve been looking forward to Sign Talker for a while. Just finished the biography on Kipling. He was very political and the book would interest anyone interested in world politics around the turn of the twentieth century.

      -Dale

Leave a Reply

